Dutch Women Softball Team


WCS & WC Roster announced

home | roster & staff 2012 | schedule 2012 | archive | history | media | links | Dutch Juniors Red | Dutch Juniors White
The Netherlands Women Softball Team is supported by
The Netherlands Women Softball Team is ambassador of
World Cup of Softball & World Championship Roster announced - Nieuwegein - Friday, June 8, 2012

roster & staff 2012

schedule 2012

coverage 2011

coverage 2010

coverage 2009

coverage 2008





Montvidas names 17 players for international roster

Nederlandse tekst

NIEUWEGEIN (Netherlands) - After completion of the practice session on Friday, June 8, Dutch National Team Head Coach Craig Montvidas and his staff announced the names of the 17-player final roster for the upcoming World Cup of Softball in Oklahoma City (USA) and ISF World Championship in Whitehorse (Canada). All players were informed personally whether they were or were not selected for the roster.

Before today's practice session, there were 26 players on the roster, including two recently added former pitcher of the Dutch Junior Red Team, who joined the team for practice sessions. This meant that of the 24 regular players, seven had to be cut. All these players remain on the overall roster as alternates, making them eligible to be recalled to the squad if needed or in case of injuries. Montvidas again underscored that this is the most difficult task to do. After the respective coaches and clubs of the players involved were informed, a press release was issued with the announcement of the roster.

The Dutch National Softball Team travels to the USA on Sunday, June 24 to participate for the second time in the World Cup of Softball in Oklahoma City from June 27-July 2. There, the team meets Australia, Brazil, Canada, Puerto Rico and the USA.

After completion of this tournament, the Dutch squad travels to Seattle, where it will stay in between events. In Seattle, the team plays two double-headers, before heading to nearby Vancouver in Canada. From there, the squad flies to Whitehorse in the northern Canadian state of Yukon, where the World Championship will be held. At the Championship, which will takes place from July 13 through 22, the Dutch Team plays in Pool A with China, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, South Africa, USA and Venezuela. Pool B is formed by Australia, Canada, Chinese Taipei, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Mexico and New Zealand. The Dutch Team opens the global event on July 13 against China.

During both events, the coaching staff will be expanded again by Tracy Bunge, while Berend Mannessen will make his debut as one of the coaches.

There are no rookies on the roster, but outfielder Yonina Sint Jago is selected for her first 'big' tournament. Last year, she was part of the team that participated in the international tournament in Bollate (Italy), but then didn't made the roster for the European Championship. Earlier this year, she was one of the players participating with the Dutch squad in the American Tour to Florida and Tennessee.

Three players who were members of last years team that captured the European title in Italy were not named to the roster this time, being Pitcher Ginger de Weert, Outfielder/Catcher Solange Starrenburg (who both are with the team since December 2008) and Outfielder Fabienne van Uden (who joined the team in October 2009). Of the three, Solange Starrenburg currently is recovering from a hand-injury.

Pitcher Rebecca Soumeru and Outfielders Nathalie Gosewehr, Saskia Kosterink and Areke Spel will participate in their third World Championship.

Infielder Petra van Heijst makes an official comeback in the National Team after a 2-year absence. She last played for the team during the European Championship in 2009 in Spain.

Besides the games during the two mentioned international tournaments, the Dutch Team also will play several exhibition games in Oklahoma City, Seattle and Whitehorse.

The 17 players selected for the World Cup of Softball in the USA and the ISF World Championship in Canada are:


Dagmar Bloeming

Femke van Dusschoten

Lindsey Meadows

Rebecca Soumeru

Anne Blaauwgeers

Nathalie Timmermans

Karin Tuk

Virginie Anneveld

Petra van Heijst

Chantal Versluis

Britt Vonk

Meike Witteveen

Nathalie Gosewehr

Saskia Kosterink

Merel Oosterveld

Yonina Sint Jago

Areke Spel

For suggestions, questions or requests mail to Media Officer/Webmaster Marco Stoovelaar: stoov@dutchsoftballteam.com

Last Update: June 8, 2012
Copyright Photos © 2008-2012 Marco Stoovelaar.
Copyright Site © 2008-2012 Marco Stoovelaar / Dutch Women Softball Teams. All Rights Reserved.