Dutch Women Softball Team


28 players invited

home | roster & staff 2009 | schedule 2009 | archive | history | media | links
The Netherlands Women Softball Team is sponsored by
28 players invited for National Team - December 11, 2008

roster & staff 2009

schedule 2009

coverage 2008





28 players named to preliminary roster

On December 11, 2008, an invitation was send to 28 players to attend a meeting in January to be followed by the first practices as part of the preparations for the international season 2009. In the group of 28 players that comprise the preliminary roster of the Dutch National Women Softball Team are 12 players, who played for the national squad in 2008, including nine who participated in the Olympic Games in Beijing (China). Amongst the other 16 players are ten, who during the Holland Tour in June-July of 2008 played for the Holland All Stars against the Dutch National Team.

The team, led by new head coach Craig Montvidas, will stage its first practice session on January 13. Starting on this date, the team will practice three times a week through March 1. During the practice months of January and February, the roster will be brought back to 21 players. Of course, the option remains open for the coachingstaff to make changes or add more players when needed or based on results.

Practice sessions are scheduled on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Sundays. On Tuesdays, practices are scheduled to be held in Sportcentrum Galgenwaard in Utrecht. On Wednesdays, the practices will be held in Sporthallen Zuid in Amsterdam and on Sunday, the team practices in Sporthal Het Diekman in Enschede. The last indoor practice is scheduled for Sunday, March 1.

The 28 players who are invited for the practice sessions are:

Dagmar Bloeming (Sparks Haarlem), Richelle van Gennip (Run '71), Shannah van der Kaaij (Terrasvogels), Kirsten Scheele (Sparks Haarlem), Rebecca Soumeru (Sparks Haarlem), Daisy Verstappen (Euro Stars), Ginger de Weert (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers).

Amber Dammers (Centrals), Nathalie Timmermans (Sparks Haarlem), Karin Tuk (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Ellen Venker (Euro Stars).

Virginie Anneveld (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Noémi Boekel (Sparks Haarlem), Judith Diepeveen (Sparks Haarlem), Petra van Heijst (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Dana Horeman (Terrasvogels), Kim Kluijskens (Sparks Haarlem), Nadine Marinus (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Annemiek van Riessen (Terrasvogels), Chantal Versluis (Sparks Haarlem), Britt Vonk (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Meike Witteveen (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers).

Marloes Fellinger (Sparks Haarlem), Nathalie Gosewehr (Terrasvogels), Saskia Kosterink (Sparks Haarlem), Merel Oosterveld (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Areke Spel (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers), Solange Starrenburg (Terrasvogels).

For suggestions, questions or requests mail to Media Officer/Webmaster Marco Stoovelaar: stoov@dutchsoftballteam.com

Last Update: December 12, 2008
Copyright Photos © 2008-2009 Marco Stoovelaar.
Copyright Site © 2008-2009 Marco Stoovelaar / Dutch Women Softball Team.