Dutch Women Softball Team


Saskia Kosterink named
ISF Athlete Ambassador

home | roster & staff 2009 | schedule 2009 | archive | history | media | links
The Netherlands Women Softball Team is sponsored by
Saskia Kosterink named ISF Athlete Ambassador - November 21, 2008

roster & staff 2009

schedule 2009

coverage 2008





12 players elected by ISF to be Athlete Ambassador

PLANT CITY, Florida (USA) - Dutch softball-national team player Saskia Kosterink is one of 12 players who has been chosen by the International Softball Federation (ISF) to participate in the Athlete Ambassadors-program of the world governing softball body. The twelve will support the BackSoftball-campaign of the ISF, which is working for the re-instatement of the Olympic status for softball and the return of the sport on the Olympic calender for the 2016 Games. The 12 chosen players represent all five continents: Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania. Seven of the twelve players participated in the Olympic Games of Beijing. The choice for the 12 softball-players came from nominations which were put forward to the ISF by members countries.

Saskia Kosterink is playing for the Dutch national team since 2005 and in August of this year participated in the Olympic Games in Beijing. In 2005 and 2007, the outfielder played with the Dutch national team on the European Championships and in 2006, she was a member of the team that participated in the World Championships in China. During the Olympic Qualifying Tournament of 2007 in Italy, Saskia scored the winning run in the final of the event against the host country, therefore securing the Dutch spot for the Olympics in Beijing. Saskia also participated in two Canada Cups and a Japan Cup. Saskia started her career with the team of Run '71 in the eastern city of Oldenzaal, then made her big league-debut with Tex Town Tigers, which is from the nearby city of Enschede. Since this year, she plays for Sparks Haarlem.

The twelve elected players are: Lynn Alexander (South Africa), Alison Bradley (Canada), Daniela Castelani (Italy), Luciola Figueroa (Puerto Rico), Gergana Handjiyska (Bulgaria), Saskia Kosterink (Netherlands), Jessica Mendoza (USA), Ming-Hui Chueh (Chinese Taipei), Rubilena Rojas (Venezuela), Danielle Stewart (Australia), Zhou Yi (China) and Sibylle ZŁercher (Switzerland). Alison Bradley (2004, 2008), Daniela Castelani (2000, 2004), Saskia Kosterink (2008), Jessica Mendoza (2004, 2008), Chueh Ming-Hui (2008), Rubilena Rojas (2008), Danielle Stewart (2008) and Zhou Yi (2004, 2008) have participated in the Olympic Games. American Michele Smith, who twice won Olympic gold with Team USA (1996, 2000), will chair the international group.

In January next year, the twelve players will have a workshop at the Head Quarters of the ISF in Florida and then will be informed about the plans for the Athletes Ambassadors. They will represent softball during several international events, as well as support players.

Saskia's page on this site

Saskia Kosterink on the basepath during the first American trip of this year

For suggestions, questions or requests mail to Media Officer/Webmaster Marco Stoovelaar: stoov@dutchsoftballteam.com

Last Update: November 27, 2008
Copyright Photo © 2008 Ted Lee.
Copyright Site © 2008-2009 Marco Stoovelaar / Dutch Women Softball Team. All Rights Reserved.